

Perth and Kinross Integration Joint Board

28 September 2018

Board Membership Update

Report by Clerk to the Board (G/18/147)

PURPOSE OF THE REPORT

This report updates the Board on recent appointments to the voting members of the Board. It also makes proposals in terms of the appointment of non-voting members to the Board, as well as further appointments to the Audit and Performance Committee.

1. VOTING MEMBERS

- 1.1 In terms of the <u>Integration Scheme</u> for the IJB, the eight voting members of the Board are made up of four elected members from Perth and Kinross Council and four non-executive members from the NHS Tayside Board.
- 1.2 A number of changes to the voting members were reported to the last meeting of the Board on 22 June 2018 and these are reflected in the membership list in Appendix 1.
- 1.3 At the meeting of the NHS Tayside Board on 28 June 2018, Professor Nic Beech was confirmed as a member of this Board and this is also reflected in Appendix 1. Following the resignation of Stephen Hay, there is now a vacancy in the office of chair and in the voting members from NHS Tayside Board. It is understood that nominations for the office of chair and for the vacancy as a voting member are being considered by NHS Tayside Board.

2 NON-VOTING MEMBERS

2.1 The IJB also contains a number of non-voting members as set out in Appendix 1, including public partner representatives. <u>The Public Bodies (Joint</u> <u>Working) (Membership and Procedures of Integration Joint Boards) (Scotland)</u> <u>Order 2014</u> sets out the timescales for the appointment of non-voting members on the IJB.

- 2.2 Following the resignation of Helen Mackinnon as the Third Sector Representative, it is proposed that Clare Gallagher be appointed as the Representative, with Sandy Watts as the substitute, until 28 September 2019.
- 2.2 Linda Lennie and Sandra Auld (substitute) have been appointed as Service User Representatives until 31 October 2018. At the last meeting of this Board on 22 June 2018, Bernie Campbell and Maureen Summers (substitute) were reappointed to the Board as Carer Representatives until May 2019. It is proposed that the Board consider the further appointment of Linda Lennie and Sandra Auld in their respective roles.
- 2.3 Dr Drew Walker and Dr Alastair Noble have been members of the Board since 2015 and have made a valuable contribution to the work of the Board. The development of the Board's revised Strategic Plan based around the 4 themes of Primary Care; Carers Services; Older People & Unscheduled Care; and Mental Health & Wellbeing gives the Board an opportunity to undertake a review of the skills needed to support the work of the Board in the future. Accordingly it is proposed that the term of appointment of both Dr Walker and Dr Noble be extended until 31 March 2019 with the position being reviewed at that time in the light of work on a skills matrix for the Board.

3. AUDIT AND PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE

- 3.1 The constitution of the Audit and Performance Committee of the Board sets out that four members of the Committee must be voting members of the Board, and must include an equal number of the voting members appointed by both the Board of NHS Tayside and Perth and Kinross Council.
- 3.2 At the Board's last meeting on 22 June 2018, it was agreed that Dr R Peat be appointed to the Audit and Performance Committee; and that Councillor C Purves be appointed a member and Chair of the Committee from 21 July 2018. Following the resignation of Stephen Hay, there is a requirement for a further voting member from NHS Tayside be appointed to the Committee.

4. **RECOMMENDATIONS**

- 4.1 It is recommended that the Board
 - (a) notes the appointment of Professor Nic Beech as a voting member by NHS Tayside Board but that following the resignation of Stephen Hay, nominations for the office of chair and for the vacancy as a voting member are being considered by NHS Tayside Board.
 - (b) agrees to appoint Clare Gallagher as the Third Sector Representative, with Sandy Watts as the substitute, until 28 September 2019.
 - (c) Considers the further appointment of Linda Lennie and Sandra Auld in their respective roles as public partners.
 - (d) agrees to extend the appointment of both Dr Drew Walker and Dr Alastair Noble until 31 March 2019 with a review at that time following the development of a skills matrix for the Board.

(e) agrees to appoint a voting member from NHS Tayside to the Audit and Performance Committee to fill the current vacancy on the Committee.

Author		
Name	Designation	Contact Details
Gillian Taylor	Clerk to the Board	committee@pkc.gov.uk

- **NOTE:** No background papers, as defined by Section 50D of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 (other than any containing confidential or exempt information), were relied on to any material extent in preparing this report.
- Appendix 1: Perth and Kinross Integration Joint Board Membership Update September 2018