

## **Perth and Kinross Integration Joint Board**

#### 22 March 2019

### **BOARD MEMBERSHIP UPDATE**

Report by Clerk to the Board (Report No. G/19/55)

### **PURPOSE OF THE REPORT**

This report updates the Board on the membership of both voting and non-voting members of the Board. Proposals are also made in terms of the reappointment of an additional member of the Board and membership of the Clinical, Care and Professional Governance Committee.

### 1. VOTING MEMBERS

- 1.1 In terms of the <u>Integration Scheme</u> for the Integration Joint Board (IJB), the eight voting members of the Board are made up of four elected members from Perth and Kinross Council and four members from the NHS Tayside Board.
- 1.2 Gillian Costello, Nurse Director at NHS Tayside retires at the end of June 2019. NHS Tayside Board are currently considering the voting members of the Perth and Kinross IJB with a view to changes being in place from 1 April 2019.

# 2 NON-VOTING MEMBERS

- 2.1 The IJB also contains a number of non-voting members as set out <a href="The Public Bodies">The Public Bodies</a> (Joint Working) (Membership and Procedures of Integration Joint Boards) (Scotland) Order 2014.
- 2.2 Dr Daniel Carey is the IJB's Independent Contractor and GP representative as a registered medical practitioner whose name is included in the list of primary medical service performers prepared by NHS Tayside. Dr Carey will be stepping down from his role on the IJB on 31 March 2019 and a suitable replacement will be nominated in due course.
- 2.3 Ms Fiona Fraser stepped down from her role on the IJB as the staff representative for Perth and Kinross Council and has been replaced by Mr Stuart Hope with effect from 1 March 2019.
- 2.4 Dr Drew Walker, Director of Public Health at NHS Tayside was initially appointed as an additional member of the IJB in November 2015 for 3 years,

with this subsequently extended until 31 March 2019. As the strategic priorities of the Board are currently being revised as part of the development of the updated strategic commissioning plan, it is proposed that the Board request that the Chief Executives of Perth and Kinross Council and NHS Tayside consider this further and report back with proposals on additional members of the Board.

2.5 In November 2018, the IJB agreed to establish a Clinical, Care and Professional Governance Committee. The constitution states that the committee shall comprise of 4 voting members and 2 non-voting members. The voting members were appointed in November 2018 and the Board is now asked to agree that Ms C Gallagher be appointed to the committee as a non-voting member with one vacancy still remaining.

#### 3. RECOMMENDATIONS

- 3.1 It is recommended that the Board
  - (a) Notes the updates in both voting and non-voting membership of the Board:
  - (b) Approves the proposal set out in section 2.4 of the report;
  - (c) Appoints Ms C Gallagher to the Clinical, Care and Professional Governance Committee as a non-voting member.

#### **Author**

Name	Designation	Contact Details
Scott Hendry	Clerk to the Board	committee@pkc.gov.uk

**NOTE:** No background papers, as defined by Section 50D of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 (other than any containing confidential or exempt information), were relied on to any material extent in preparing this report.