PERTH AND KINROSS COUNCIL

Minute of meeting of Perth and Kinross Council held virtually on Wednesday 24 February 2021 at 9.30am.

Present: Provost D Melloy, Councillors C Ahern, A Bailey, K Baird, M Barnacle, L Barrett, P Barrett, B Brawn, R Brock, A Coates, H Coates, S Donaldson, E Drysdale, J Duff, A Forbes, T Gray, D Illingworth, I James, A Jarvis, G Laing, M Lyle, I Massie, R McCall, S McCole, X McDade, T McEwan, A Parrott, B Pover, C Purves, J Rebbeck, W Robertson, F Sarwar, C Shiers, L Simpson, C Stewart, R Watters, M Williamson and W Wilson.

In Attendance: B Renton, Interim Chief Executive and Executive Director (Communities); C Mailer, Depute Director (Communities); S Devlin, Executive Director (Education and Children's Services); J Pepper, Depute Director (Education and Children's Services), K Donaldson, Chief Operating Officer; G Paterson, Chief Officer/Director – Integrated Health and Social Care; G Boland (Education and Children's Services); M Butterworth and F Crofts (Communities Service); L Simpson, C Flynn, S Hendry, S Mackenzie, S Walker, K Fraser, L Brady, A Brown, M Pasternak, B Parker and A McMeekin (all Corporate and Democratic Services);

Apology for Absence: Councillor C Reid.

The Provost led on Items 1-4 and 6-8, and the Depute Provost led on Item 5.

1. WELCOME AND APOLOGIES

The Provost welcomed all those present to the meeting and noted an apology as above.

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no Declarations of Interest made in terms of the Councillors Code of Conduct.

3. MINUTES

(i) 16 December 2020

The minute of the meeting of Perth and Kinross Council of 16 December 2020 was submitted, approved as a correct record and authorised for signature.

(ii) 27 January 2021

The minute of the meeting of Perth and Kinross Council of 27 January 2021 was submitted, approved as a correct record and authorised for signature.

4. RESPONSE TO COVID-19

There was a verbal update by the Interim Chief Executive and other senior officers providing an operational update on the Council's continuing response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

There followed a number of questions and comments from members, along with responses from officers.

THERE FOLLOWED A RECESS AND THE MEETING RECONVENED AT 10.45AM.

5. FINANCE CIRCULAR 1/2021 UPDATE

There was submitted a report by the Head of Finance (21/25) (1) advising of the terms of the draft 2021/22 Scottish Government Budget as set out in Finance Circular 1/2021; and (2) seeking a decision from Council as to the acceptance of these terms.

Motion (Councillors M Lyle and J Duff)

- 1. Council accepts the terms of the draft 2021/22 Scottish Budget in relation to Council Tax and freeze Council Tax levels for financial year 2021/22:
- 2. Council notes the points listed at paragraph 5.3(ii) in Report 21/25;
- 3. Council agrees to delay consideration of the 2021/22 Final Revenue Budget to 10 March 2021 at 9.30am.

Amendment 1 (Councillors G Laing and F Sarwar)

- In accordance with sections one and two of the Motion;
- Council agrees to delay consideration of the 2021/22 Final Revenue Budget to 17 March 2021 at 9.30am.

Amendment 2 (Councillors P Barrett and W Wilson)

- Council does not accept the terms of the draft 2021/22 Scottish Budget in relation to Council Tax and maintains the previously agreed position of the Council to increase the Council Tax by 4.28% for financial year 2021/22;
- In accordance with sections two and three of the Motion.

THERE FOLLOWED A 10 MINUTE RECESS AND THE MEETING RECONVENED AT 12.35PM.

In terms of Standing Order 58 a roll call vote was taken.

19 Members voted for Amendment 1 as follows:

Councillors A Bailey, M Barnacle, R Brock, S Donaldson, E Drysdale, T Gray, G Laing, I Massie, S McCole, X McDade, T McEwan, A Parrott, B Pover, C Purves, J Rebbeck, F Sarwar, C Stewart, R Watters and M Williamson.

5 Members voted for Amendment 2 as follows: Councillors L Barrett, P Barrett, W Robertson, L Simpson and W Wilson.

14 Members Abstained as follows:

Councillors C Ahern, K Baird, B Brawn, A Coates, H Coates, J Duff, A Forbes, D Illingworth, I James, A Jarvis, M Lyle, R McCall, Provost D Melloy and C Shiers

Amendment 1 therefore became the substantive Amendment and was put against the Motion.

21 Members voted for the Motion as follows:

Councillors C Ahern, K Baird, L Barrett, P Barrett, B Brawn, A Coates, H Coates, J Duff, A Forbes, D Illingworth, I James, A Jarvis, M Lyle, R McCall, Provost D Melloy, C Purves, W Robertson, C Shiers, L Simpson, C Stewart and W Wilson.

17 Members voted for the Amendment as follows:

Councillors A Bailey, M Barnacle, R Brock, S Donaldson, E Drysdale, T Gray, G Laing, I Massie, S McCole, X McDade, T McEwan, A Parrott, B Pover, J Rebbeck, F Sarwar, R Watters and M Williamson.

Resolved:

In accordance with the Motion.

6. APPOINTMENT OF TEMPORARY POLLING PLACES

There was submitted a report by the Interim Chief Executive (21/24) seeking the Council's views on several temporary changes to polling places for the Scottish Parliament elections scheduled for 6 May 2021.

Resolved:

- (i) The following temporary polling stations be approved:
 - St Anne's Church Hall, Coupar Angus
 - Blairgowrie Adult Resource Centre
 - North Inch Community Campus (Library)
- (ii) It be noted that Upper Springlands is unavailable and that the PDC register can be accommodated within the Gannochy Community Centre.
- (iii) The Interim Chief Executive be delegated authority to make adjustments to polling places, only as a result of unforeseen circumstances, and in consultation with Ward elected members.

7. APPOINTMENTS

- (i) It be agreed that Councillor S McCole replace Councillor T McEwan as a proxy member for the Perth and Kinross Integration Joint Board.
- (ii) It be agreed that Councillor J Rebbeck to appointed to the vacant position on the Employees Joint Consultative Committee.

8. TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS 2021

It be agreed that the meeting of Planning and Development Management Committee, originally scheduled to be held on Wednesday 10 March 2021 be rescheduled to be held on Tuesday 9 March 2021 at 10.00am.

