# **ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE**

Minute of Meeting of the Environment Committee held in the Council Chambers, Fourth Floor, Council Building, 2 High Street, Perth on Wednesday 21 March 2012 at 10.00am.

Present: Councillors A Grant, K Baird, L Caddell, I Campbell, B Ellis C Gillies, T Gray, M Lyle, H McDonald, L Simpson, B Band (substituting for M Williamson) and A Younger.

In Attendance: J Valentine, Depute Director (Environment); P Dickson, A Strang, R Thomson, and S Veitch (all the Environment Service); C France, C Flynn and P Frazer (all Chief Executive's Service).

Apology for Absence: Councillor D Scott.

Councillor A Grant, Convener, Presiding.

### 140. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no Declarations of Interest made in terms of the Councillors' Code of Conduct.

### 141. MINUTE OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The Minute of Meeting of the Environment Committee of 25 January 2012 (Arts 103-104) was submitted, approved as a correct record and authorised for signature.

# 142. BIENNIAL REPORT ON FLOOD PREVENTION

There was submitted a report by the Depute Director (Environment) (12/135) explaining what was proposed in the interim period, prior to the publishing of the Council's Local Flood Risk Management Plan.

The Committee heard a presentation by P Dickson, Senior Engineer and S Veitch, Flooding Officer (both The Environment Service), on the Biennial Report on Flood Prevention

#### Resolved:

- (i) The content of the Biennial Report, appended to Report (12/135) be approved.
- (ii) It be noted that an article will be included in the next edition of Perth and Kinross News summarising the Report and the Council's new responsibilities under the Flood Risk Management (Scotland) Act 2009.
- (iii) The proposals outlined in Sections 7 and 8 of Report (12/135) be noted.

# 143. VALEDICTORY

This being the last meeting of the Committee before the Local Government Elections on 3 May 2012, the Convener thanked all members of the Committee for their contribution over the last five years and also expressed his appreciation to the Environment Service staff.