Perth & Kinross Council

The Political Makeup

 Political Party  Number of Councillors
Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party 17
Scottish National Party 15
Scottish Liberal Democrats 4
Scottish Labour Party 1
Independents 3
 Total 40


The Administration Partnership includes the Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party Group and the Scottish Liberal Democrat Group.  The Leader of the Council is Councillor Murray Lyle.

The Provost of Perth and Kinross is Councillor Dennis Melloy, and the Depute Provost is Councillor Willie Wilson.

The Opposition comprises:-

Scottish National Party Group - The Leader of the Scottish National Party Group (the main Opposition Group) is Councillor Dave Doogan

Independent & Scottish Labour Group - The Group has appointed spokespeople to cover specific policy briefs as follows:-
Councillor Alasdair Bailey - Economic Development, Housing & Communities
Councillor Mike Barnacle - Environment, Infrastructure & Planning Policy
Councillor Rhona Brock - Culture, Tourism and Licensing Policy
Councillor Xander McDade - Education, Health & Local Democracy